Adventures of Potty Training

There are so many things I’ve learned in being a mother these past three years. I remember when I was young I wanted to be a mom, stay home, home school, and be awesome at all of it. After all, I watched my mom do all those things and she made it look so easy.

Now that I have become a mom myself, I can tell you that I am surprised at how difficult parenting can be. From the beginning (literally) my kids have kicked my butt. Horrid morning sickness where I lost over 20lbs in the first trimester alone, to an extremely colicky newborn and not knowing what colic even meant, to being on bed rest while pregnant with my son, to having two babies under two years old, unknown skin problems on my son that went on for months, and now on to potty training.

If you’ve noticed the lack of posts lately it has been due to potty training my almost 3 year old. I’ve read so many tips and advice on how to do it. Apparently, when I read “the first few days are very difficult,” I don’t pay attention. It is REALLY hard. The accidents, trying to pick up on my daughter’s cues, the hoping-this-carpet-cleaner-is-safe-on-my-couch, and having her sit on the potty for almost a half hour with no results only to have her pee down her leg minutes after she gets off. *sigh*

As much as I don’t want to do any of this I certainly don’t want to have two kids in diapers even more. That is my motivation. The thought of eventually one child in diapers. The money saving. The eventual convenience of once she “gets” it.

So until this potty training calms down a bit I will be posting a little less but I wanted to let you know why. I will later do a post on things that worked or didn’t work for her…it won’t have any new revelations, I’m sure. No way to reinvent the wheel of getting a toddler to use the bathroom. 😉

Now, off to ask “do you need to go potty” a thousand times more today.

Leave a Reply

