Where?

I apologize for not being around the past few weeks. It’s been extra busy around my household. We a a house guest stay with us for about three weeks (while potty training!!), then we went out to the coast for my daughter’s 3rd birthday, and my Father in Law came to visit. It has been nutty but SO much fun.

We went to the Washington coast town of Ocean Shores and stayed at a friend’s family cabin. My mom, father in law, and my brother and his wife all joined us. We played games, had birthday “cake-cakes” (pancakes), and opened gifts out there. I also attempted to make cake pops for the 2nd time, and I am now ditching the cake pop maker in favor of plain old cupcakes from now on. I tried jumping on that band wagon and got frustrated and disappointed both attempts. I can’t mess up cupcakes, and they’re easy and delicious so I’m not too upset.

When we first got to the beach and we were all walking towards the sand, my kids didn’t understand where we were going. They had never seen the ocean, or sand, except for on TV and that hardly helps. As soon as my daughter glimpsed the waves, her eyes got huge, she pointed and yelled, “Mama! The ocean!!”

Once on the sand, my son took off and didn’t stop running for an hour and a half. He loved every bit of it. If he fell in the water it appeared that he hardly noticed, he just kept exploring. My daughter wasn’t sure of the sand because, “Mama my toes are dirty. There’s dirt on my feet. Yuck!” Us adults smiled and told her it was fine and the more we ignored the “dirt” the better she was about ignoring it, too. The waves made her nervous because they were loud. As we walked down the beach a ways the waves got calmer and quieter and she was running around in the freezing Washington water. We collected whole sand dollars, ran around with our 3 dogs (ours, my mom’s, and my brother and his wife’s dog), and had a blast. Once we turned around and made it back to our pile of towels and toy buckets we saw both of my kids were wet, shivering, and exhausted. We bundled them in towels and ran back to the house where we ate lunch and opened presents.

The weekend was wonderful. It was just what we wanted. Low-key and family oriented. Next week we will have the party in a local park with her little friends. We didn’t reserve anything at the park, so I’ll be getting there bright and early to set up and snag a table near the playground. I’ll be taking pictures of the party and will have links to some printables I used. Until then, here’s some photos of our weekend!

 

image

 

Cuddling with daddy before bed.

image

 

Birthday cake-cakes!

image

 

“Mama, the ocean!!”

image

 

Daddy leading her to the water.

image

 

Grandpa showing Little Man the water.

image

 

Elsa puppy loved the beach.

image

He didn’t stop running the whole time!

image

Watching their feet sink in the sand.

image

 

Getting over how sand is yucky. Haha.

image

image

She loves the water now!

image

Shivering and tired, he snuggled into my mom and fell asleep on the walk back to the car.

image

He takes his frozen yogurt very seriously.

image

 

Showing off her accessories. Happy birthday baby girl!

Leave a Reply

